It’s all too easy to inadvertently consume one too many drinks before heading home, particularly if your body happens to process alcohol more slowly than most. In New Jersey, driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher is grounds for a DUI charge. However, commercial drivers and drivers under the age of 21 can be charged for having a BAC of 0.04 percent and 0.02 percent, respectively. Since those charged with DUI face severe consequences, it’s imperative to call a DUI attorney in Bergen County as soon as possible. Your DUI attorney can provide aggressive representation on your behalf in court and ensure that your legal rights are safeguarded.

75506359Legal Penalties
If you’re convicted of your first offense of having a BAC higher than 0.08 percent, you could be sentenced to up to 30 days behind bars. Additionally, you could be required to participate in 12 to 48 hours of programs at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).

Administrative Penalties
Administrative penalties can vary depending on whether you’re convicted of having a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher, yet less than 0.10 percent. In this situation, you could lose your license for three months. If you are convicted of having a BAC of 0.10 percent or higher, you can lose your license for seven to 12 months. Additionally, for those convicted of having a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher, ignition interlock may be required for six months to one year following license reinstatement. It is possible that your DUI attorney may successfully argue for penalties on the lower end of this scale.

Drunk driving convictions in New Jersey can result in hefty fines. For your first DUI conviction, you could be required to pay a $230 IDRC fee, a $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) fee, and a $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fine. Additionally, you can be required to pay a surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years, along with a general fine between $250 and $500.

By hiring an experienced NJ DUI/DWI attorney, you can significantly increase your chances of getting your charges dropped.