Aggressively Defending Simple or Aggravated Assault Clients
Thousands of individuals are charged with assault every year in New Jersey. This is a serious criminal charge for which you should have serious and dedicated legal representation. Our experienced attorneys handle all assault and battery charges aggressively and thoroughly. If you are charged with simple or aggravated assault it’s important to consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately.
In many cases, we were able to negotiate a downgrade of the charges or get the charges dismissed altogether. If you have been charged, call us today to schedule your complimentary consultation.
The Various Types of Assault Cases Include:
- Assaults as a result of negligent security or unsafe premises
- Domestic violence or domestic abuse acts
- Assaults committed int he vent of a criminal act (such as robbery)
- Sexual assault, date rape and statutory rape
Whether you are charged with simple assault or aggravated assault, we can help!
At Schreyer Law Firm LLC you get the big firm experience with the small firm individualized attention and affordable rates. In New Jersey, assault offenses can be classified as simple assault and aggravated assault. Simple assault, a disorderly persons offense, carries up to six months in jail. Aggravated assault which can include a second, third or fourth-degree charge has much more dire consequences resulting from a conviction such as a minimum of 18 months in jail.
Why Hire an Attorney for Your Assault Case?
Talking to anyone other than your criminal defense attorney could prove harmful to your case. If you have been arrested or realize you are going to be charged with assaut, exercise your Constitutional right to remain silent until you have spoken with your lawyer. Our attorneys can help ensure that nothing you say can be negatively used against you in court.
Additionally, our experienced criminal defense lawyers may be able to negotiate a downgrade in the charges or get your charges dropped altogether.
In New Jersey, assault is one of the few offenses in which you can be charged with an “attemp to to commit the offense” even if you never actually committed the offense. As a result, you’ll want to make sure you have experienced representation on your side.
Our lawyers have been aggressively and successfully defending assault clients for over 40 years. Call us today to schedule your free consultation to learn how we can help you downgrade or dismiss your charges.
A person is guilty of simple assault if he/she:
- Attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
- Negligently causes bodily harm to another with a deadly weapon; or
- Attempts by physical menance to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily harm.
Simple assault penalities can include up to 180 days in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. Additionally, the judge may also order the offender to service community service, pay restitution, serve time on probation and attend counseling and anger management classes.
Aggravated assault is a severe felony crime that can carry substantial prison time if you are found guilty or plead guilty to your charges. Aggravated assault is a broad statute with many different potential scenarios which can allow lesser assault charges to easily be upgraded to an indictable offense. An experienced assault attorney can be instrumental in getting aggravated assault charges downgraded or dismissed so you can avoid incarceration.
A person is guilty of aggravated assault if he/she:
- Attempts to cause serious bodily injury to another, or causes such injury purposely or knowingly or under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life recklessly causes such injury; or
- Attempts to cause or purposely or knowingly cause bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
- Recklessly causes bodily harm to another with a deadly weapon; or
- Knowingly under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life points a firearm at or in the direction of another, whether or not the individual believes it to be loaded; or
- Commits a simple assault upon any law enforcement officer acting in the performance of his duties; any paid or volunteer fireman acting in the performance of his duties; any person engaged in emergency first-aid or medical services in the performance of his duties; any school board member, school administer, teacher, school bus driver or other employee; any employees of the Division of Youth and Family Services; any justice of the Supreme Court, judge of the Supreme Court, judge of the Tax Court, or municipal judge.
- Cases bodily injury to another person while fleeing or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer while operation a motor vehicle; or
- Attempts to cause significant bodily harm to another or causes significant bodily harm purposely or knowingly or, under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life recklessly causes such significant bodily injury; or
- Causes bodily injury by knowingly purposely starting a fire or explosion; or
- Knowingly, under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life, points or display a firearm at or in the direction of a law enforcement officer; or
- Knowingly points, displays or uses an imitation firearm at or in the direction of a law enforcement officer with the purpose to intimidate, threaten, or attempt to put the officer in fear of bodily harm or for any unlawful purpose.
Regardless of the degree of aggravated assault, you could be facing:
- Lengthy prison time
- Lengthy probation
- A felony charge on your permanent record
If you or a loved one has been charged with simple or aggravated assault, contact Schreyer Law Firm LLC today to schedule your free consultation. We have been achieving favorable outcomes for our assault clients for over 40 years in Paterson, Westwood, Bergen County, Passaic County, Essex County, and Hudson County.