Driving under the influence of alcohol is a serious charge, and a conviction can carry severe penalties and even jail time. If you have been charged with a DUI, an experienced criminal defense and DUI attorney may be able to help you fight your charges in court. You can familiarize yourself with your legal rights with this overview of New Jersey DUI laws and penalties.
A New Jersey DUI conviction results in immediate and automatic suspension of your driver’s license—for all drivers. If your BAC, or blood alcohol content, is greater than 0.08%, your license will be suspended for three months. If your BAC is 0.10% or greater, you will lose your license for seven to 12 months. If you have had more than one DUI within 10 years, you will face a two to 10 year license suspension.
Upon conviction, all defendants pay $100 to the state’s drunk driving fund, $1,000 per year paid for three years, $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund, a $230 IDRC fee, and $100 to AERF. In addition, first-time offenders will face punitive fines of between $250 to $500, while repeat offenders can expect to pay the court up to an extra $1,000.
First-time offenders do not have to perform community service, but repeat DUI offenders may be assigned between one and three months of mandatory service. Additionally, any DUI conviction can result in up to 30 days of jail time. If it is your third offense, you may spend up to 180 days in prison, while two-time offenders may be incarcerated for three months.
Being charged with a DUI can be overwhelming, and the only way to avoid legal missteps and put this situation behind you is to seek help from a defense attorney. The Law Firm of Walter K. Schreyer of New Jersey is a full-service law firm, and our attorneys handle everything from family law issues such as divorce to criminal charges and DUIs. Schedule a free consultation with our experienced trial lawyers by calling (201) 383-4256 today.