Like most states, New Jersey maintains strict driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws. If you’ve been charged with DUI or DWI, contact a DUI attorney from an experienced law firm right away. A DUI attorney serving Westwood can ensure that your legal rights are protected and will work to build a strong case in your defense. For example, your lawyer might determine that the arresting officer failed to properly follow procedure when administering the Breathalyzer or taking you into custody. It’s possible that the attorney can arrange to have the charges dropped or to negotiate for a favorable plea bargain.
DWI Laws in New Jersey
Many states, including New Jersey, have imposed implied consent regulations. This means that if you drive within the state, you’re automatically presumed to have consented to chemical testing to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). Refusal to submit to a Breathalyzer will result in fines and an automatic suspension of your license. If you’re found to have a BAC of 0.08 percent or greater while operating a motor vehicle or a boat, you’ll be charged with DWI. If you’re a commercial driver, be aware that the legal limit is 0.04 percent, while drivers who are younger than 21 years of age are not allowed to have a BAC of 0.02 percent or greater.
First Conviction Penalties
Your lawyer will help you understand the potential penalties involved if you’re convicted. If this is your first DWI offense and your BAC was between 0.08 and 0.10 percent, you’re facing the loss of your license for three months, a jail term of up to 30 days, various fines, and 12 to 48 hours of time at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). If your BAC was 0.10 percent or greater, you’re facing the loss of your license for seven months to one year, more significant fines, and up to 30 days in jail. You’re also facing ignition interlock and time at the IDRC.
Multiple Conviction Penalties
If you’ve previously been convicted of a DUI/DWI offense, it’s even more important to hire a veteran DUI attorney from a leading law firm because the penalties are much more severe. A third offense within 10 years, for example, can lead to the loss of your license for 10 years. The fines will increase, as will the potential jail time and community service.