There are many misconceptions about various different crimes and their corresponding punishments due to movies, television programming, and hearsay. Thus, you may have a plethora of questions if you happen to be charged with a crime such as a driving under the influence (DUI). Read through these frequently asked questions regarding DUI to learn more … Continue reading Common Questions About DUI
If you or a loved one made the mistake of getting behind the wheel after having too much to drink, it is important to know your legal rights. Each state’s laws vary, so you should consult a local criminal defense lawyer immediately after an arrest. While every situation is different, this article looks at some … Continue reading Steps to Take If You Are Arrested for a DWI
If you are driving with a heightened Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), police may pull you over and request to check the alcohol content in your breath, blood, or urine. New Jersey law dictates that all drivers operating motor vehicles on state roads consent to be tested for alcohol or drugs in the event that they … Continue reading Should You Refuse a DWI Test?
If you have been arrested and charged with your first DUI, the penalties are not nearly as bad as second and third offenses. However, that doesn’t mean first-time DUI sentences are a walk in the park. License suspension, fines, fees, and a jail sentence of up to 30 days are all common in New Jersey … Continue reading First-Time DUI Sentences
Everyone makes mistakes. Unfortunately, some mistakes can carry serious, far-reaching consequences. New Jersey has stiff DUI laws and even stiffer penalties. This means you need an aggressive defense attorney to protect yourself from the ramifications of a guilty verdict. To help you understand the importance of hiring a DUI defense attorney in Paramus to fight … Continue reading The Consequences of a DUI in New Jersey
New Jersey has stiff DUI laws, and the penalties of a guilty verdict can have long reaching consequences. For starts, your driver’s license may be suspended for up to 7 months after the first offense. You may also face fines well over $1,000 for repeat DUI offenses. Worst of all, a driver may receive a … Continue reading Potential Consequences of a DUI
Like most states, New Jersey maintains strict driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws. If you’ve been charged with DUI or DWI, contact a DUI attorney from an experienced law firm right away. A DUI attorney serving Westwood can ensure that your legal rights are protected and will work to build a strong case in your defense. … Continue reading Examining New Jersey’s DWI Laws
When you see the flashing of red and blue lights of a police cruiser in your rearview mirror, it’s normal to feel stress. If you’re being pulled over on the suspicion of driving under the influence, or DUI, you should know your rights so that you don’t say or do anything that can be used … Continue reading Pulled Over for DUI? Your Rights When You See Flashing Lights