dui

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious charge that can affect all aspects of your life. Understanding some of the common mistakes made by other drivers suspected of a DUI may help you avoid similar pitfalls, so read on to learn more.

Submitting to Field Sobriety Tests
Field sobriety tests are the roadside tests officers usually require drivers to perform when they are stopped on suspicion of driving under the influence. Many drivers do not know that New Jersey law does not require drivers to submit to these tests. There is a Standardized Field Sobriety Test, which is a battery of three tests that were developed through research sponsored by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. However, some officers administer tests that are not part of this standardized test, prove highly inaccurate, and will be considered as evidence of your intoxication by a judge.

Underestimating the Consequences
Ignoring your arrest and underestimating the consequences of a DUI charge will not help you resolve your case. A DUI conviction is a serious offense in New Jersey. If you are convicted on a first offense with blood alcohol content (BAC) between 0.08 and 0.10 percent, you will lose your driver license for three months and face a prison term of up to 30 days. You will be subject to fines and fees of at least $3,700.

Not Contacting an Attorney
Some people assume that DUI cases are simple and clear cut, but this is not true. There are deficiencies with field sobriety tests and breathalyzer tests, and both of these tests can be used against you in court. An experienced DUI attorney understands these issues and knows how to use the evidence in your favor.

The Law Firm of Walter K. Schreyer is a full service law firm in New Jersey and New York that can help you through your DUI case. We understand the complexities of a DUI case and know the consequences you are facing. To schedule a free initial consultation, call (201) 383-2185.